Pecan Pie Bars

I realize the holidays are over and that you are sick of pecan pie. But, I like to run about a month behind and I actually have pecans left over this year. So, if you have pecans left and you want a quick, easy, delicious snack that is similar to a pecan pie, then this recipe may be for you.

We were having a get together around Thanksgiving and my friend Angee could not attend. “What about my coming by the day before to help you get ready,” she said. “I could make some pecan bars?”

I gladly took her up on help and was certainly happy that I did.

She sorta rocks in that Martha Stewart meets Desperate Housewives meets soccer mom meets rock star kinda way. And, heck yes! I’ll gladly drink a glass of iced tea while you whip up a little something for my party.

I didn’t get all the details, but I’m pretty sure this is the recipe she used below. It’s completely stolen from the Internet and I found the same recipe on countless sites.

Sadly, I must report that these pecan bars were the closest thing to real pecan pie I had the pleasure of eating this year during the holidays.  Nathan and I both love pecan pie, but it just never happened.

And, oddly enough, Angee doesn’t even like pecans or any dessert with nuts. I think that makes her nuts! But it sure was good to see her and these pecan bars were almost as delicious as spending time with a great friend!

Pecan Pie Bars

Ingredients

 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix

1/2 cup margarine, softened

1 egg

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups dark corn syrup

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup chopped pecans

2/3 cup yellow cake mix

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

2.  Grease a 9×13 inch pan.

3.  Reserve 2/3 cup cake mix.

4.  Mix together remaining cake mix, margarine, and 1 egg.

5.  Pat in prepared pan.

6.  Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

7.  Beat together 3 eggs, vanilla, reserved 2/3 cup cake mix, corn syrup, and brown sugar. Pour on cake in pan. Sprinkle pecans on top.

8.  Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30-35 minutes.

1 Comment

Filed under Box Can Bam!

One response to “Pecan Pie Bars

  1. Gail Woolsey

    THERE IS ANOTHER RECIPE YOU MIGHT LIKE TO . GRAHAM CRACKERS, BUTTER, SUGAR AND PECANS. PECAN BARK. I’LL GET IT TO YOU SO EASY TO MAKE.

Leave a Reply

