Brown Sugar Pound Cake with Buttered Spiced Rum Glaze

When I announced I was going to make a pound cake while we were snowed in, Nathan was not the least bit intrigued.

I had never made a pound cake in my life, but it seems like a real classic recipe that every housewife should master. I chuckle out loud that statement. To consider myself a housewife is really funny to me and I know that Nathan will pick himself up off the ground when he reads this. Anyway, it’s a classic recipe no matter who you are or whose laundry you don’t do.

I decided on a brown sugar pound cake with pecans. My reasoning was simple. I like sugar, but I like brown sugar better.

I’ve been longing to make a rum cake so I immediately started looking at rum glaze recipes. I added lemon to mine because it seems to me that a pound cake should have lemon somewhere in the recipe and it gives the glaze a good shine – er, sheen.

This cake is quite sweet and very rich. But let me tell you about the glaze. The cake is good, very dense and moist, but the glaze is over the top. I think it would be great on cupcakes, or spice cake or just poured in a bowl and eaten with a spoon! It’s the kind of glaze that forms a nice crust. Sometimes I eat things with rum in them and it’s just too up front. In this case, the rum adds flavor without overpowering the sweetness.

So here’s to having your rum and eating it too!


Brown Sugar Pound Cake with Buttered Spiced Rum Glaze

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and prepare a bundt pan or tube pan for baking. For this recipe I used a silicone bundt pan similar to this one.

I sprayed it really well with cooking spray and it worked great.

Ingredients

3 Cups all-purpose flour

½ Teaspoon baking powder

½ Teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups butter

2 Cups brown sugar

1 Cup white sugar

5 Eggs

1 Cup milk

1 Teaspoon vanilla

Mix together three cups of flour with ½ teaspoon of baking powder and ½ teaspoon of salt. Set aside.

Cream together 1-½ cups of butter, 2 cups brown sugar and one cup white sugar.

Add 1-teaspoon vanilla.

Beat in five eggs one at a time. Don’t overbeat; just mix until each egg is blended.

Beat in the flour mixture alternately with some of the milk until it is all incorporated. Again, mix as little as possible, but make sure it is well blended. Add one cup of chopped pecans.

Pour into cake pan and bake for 60-75 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. My oven took 85 minutes, so make sure you do the test.

Allow cake to cool while you prepare the glaze

Buttered Spiced Rum Glaze

4 Tablespoons butter

3 Tablespoons spiced rum

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

2 Cups powdered sugar

Place butter and spiced rum in small saucepan. When butter is completely melted add lemon juice and remove from heat. Whisk in powdered sugar one cup at a time. If it’s too thick add more lemon juice. If it’s too runny add more sugar. I try to get mine to the consistency of molasses.

Remove cake from pan and pour glaze over the top. This works best if the cake is cooled completely. You should do as I say, not as I do! I poured my glaze on a little too early because I just couldn’t wait.

4 Comments

Filed under In the Kitchen

4 responses to “Brown Sugar Pound Cake with Buttered Spiced Rum Glaze

  1. earlyrisers

    the cake was amazing! even with the nuts in it. i didn’t pick them out! nice work wifey!

  2. Lisa

    You make me laugh, Misti! Like myself, I feel like you scoff at the idea of any sort of domestic notion….yet we both get twinkles in our eyes when we gather up ingredients to try a new recipe. Maybe “housewife” isn’t as scary a term as we think…

  3. Gail Woolsey

    That cake looks amazing. Is Nathan still in shock? Not housewife, Cooking Host, see it now. Love Aunt G

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review | Dirtshoe Blog

Leave a Reply

