Maple Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel

It has been awhile since I’ve had a chance to post anything. To make it up to my five regular readers, I’m going to post a decadent, sweet recipe that is sure to please and sure to expand your waistline. It’s the holiday season. What else do you expect to see? I’ve looked at whole-wheat piecrusts and low-sugar options for this pie. However, none of them really got my motor running and gave me that true Thanksgiving feeling. So, Nathan and I made the ultimate sacrifice and whipped up this pie a week or so back to test it. We really wanted to have a great traditional Thanksgiving recipe and we didn’t mind the sacrifice at all.  We are happy to report that it is delicious.

I saw a similar pie on Bobby Flay’s Throwdown show of the Food Network, but I didn’t find a lot of recipes online. The one you see here is a mix of several recipes that we morphed into this one. I will also say that I’m baking it again this week for our Thanksgiving dinner and if I make any changes, I will post it again. Either way, we really liked the results of this recipe.

The day after Thanksgiving, Nathan and I are going on an adventure to a magical place called “Deer Camp” to visit with my family. You see, in my hometown, (the entire county, really) Thanksgiving just happens to fall during Deer Season. Schools close down, not just for Thanksgiving, but for Deer Season. They close the entire week! My hometown rolls up the streets and most people move to the woods to campout and hunt. Since many of my readers are from that area, I’m not telling you guys anything you don’t already know. However, when I tell my friends in the big city that school closes for the entire week of Deer Season, they look at me like I’m crazy.

During my college years, I argued my point to no avail with a certain professor who I will not name here. Just suffice it to say, she told me I was nuts to expect to miss class all week so I could go to some holiday event she had never heard of at all. My family prepares for this event for months. Right now as I type this, I know they are all together at Deer Camp and that they have all been cooking away and having a great time.

Here are a few things I appreciate about Deer Season — or as some people like to call it, Thanksgiving Week — in my hometown:

  • Almost every pickup truck I see has a four-wheeler in the back.
  • Hunter’s orange is the new black.
  • Camouflage is totally acceptable – and when I say acceptable, I mean it … church, school (oh wait, there’s no school), funerals, weddings, shopping, etc.
  • The smell of campfires permeates the air.
  • The local newspapers run the deer hunting stats and pictures in the paper.
  • As I said above – SCHOOL CLOSES.
  • There are signs everywhere pointing the way to different deer camps – many with familiar family names.
  • I get to hear comforting words like Billy Bell Trail, backstrap, 70 Thousand Road, Blue Rock Road and “Ya’ll see anything?”
  • The thing I most appreciate about it all is how many families spend time together and all the traditions that are carried on year after year.
  • And, I forgot to mention that I relate Deer Season to my Nanny’s pecan pie which I absolutely loooooove!

So, in honor of Thanksgiving, I’m posting this Maple Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel recipe. Keep in mind, it would be practically impossible to make this in a camp-stove oven, so this transplanted city girl will probably make it ahead of time and carry it to Deer Camp.

And, by the way, keep Nathan in your thoughts. He grew up on the other side of the state where they celebrate Thanksgiving and they hunt some too. Deer camp with my family is somewhat akin to visiting to a foreign country. I love it!

Maple Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel

1 Pie Crust – use your favorite recipe, store bought … whichever you prefer. We used the one we used in our Fried Pie Recipe and it worked fine.

1 can of plain pumpkin

¼ cup of real maple syrup

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground ginger

½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

½ teaspoon salt

Pecan Streusel Topping

½ cup brown sugar, packed

½ cup flour

¼ cup butter, firm (add a little less butter for a more crumbly top — it’s up to you)

½ cup chopped pecans

Directions

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

In large mixing bowl combine pumpkin, syrup, eggs, brown sugar, spices and salt. Blend well.

Pour pumpkin mixture into unbaked piecrust. Bake for 15 minutes.

Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees. Bake for 25 minutes longer.

While pie is in the oven prepare the streusel topping:

Combine brown sugar and flour. Cut in the butter until crumbly. Stir in chopped nuts. Set in a cool place or refrigerator.

Sprinkle streusel topping over pie. Continue baking at 350 degrees for an additional 15-20 minutes longer, or until golden brown and the filling is set.

If the piecrust starts browning too much, just wrap the edges with tin foil to protect it.

Cool before serving.

6 Comments

Filed under In the Kitchen

6 responses to “Maple Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel

  1. Now that pie just looks divine!!!! And I love deer camp stories……..I pray for you this week Nathan.

  2. Deborah Tower

    This recipe sounds wonderful but are you sure there is no milk in this recipe?

    • okiemuse

      Well … that is a good question. It has been a year since I have made it and I can’t remember. I’ve looked back at my notes and there is no milk listed there. But, after reading your comment, I also am surprised there is no milk. My husband thinks that we had a conversation about this very thing when we made the pie and we decided that this recipe adds a lot more maple syrup than most — if we added milk it might be too runny.

      I think this means that I’m going to have to make this again to see if it’s accurate. My husband will appreciate the test.

      • okiemuse

        My husband was convinced we had made a mistake and left the milk out of this recipe, but I’m happy to report that we didn’t. I made two pies last night. One was exactly this recipe. For the other one, I used this recipe but added a can of sweetened condensed milk. Both pies are very good.

        The pie without the milk isn’t as sweet and has a stronger pumpkin taste. There is a good balance between the sweetness of the topping and the pie filling. And, there is also lots of room for the crumbly mixture on top of the pie.

        The pie WITH the milk is sweeter and creamier. We also had to bake it about 20 minutes longer before adding the topping.
        Now, what am I going to do with two pies!!!

  3. Deborah Tower

    Thanks for remaking the test pies! I added a 12 oz can of evaporated milk to the recipe as stated and the pie was really good. Did take about 20 minutes extra to cook (until knife inserted in center came out clean). Thank you!

  4. tj

    I baked this pie for Thanksgiving. Fortunately I read down and saw to add sweetened condensed milk; it really makes it creamy and sweet. This pie is fantastic! I crushed gingersnaps and cinnamon graham crackers for my crust. I was determined to make the pie for Thanksgiving, but time was running out. As our food was being served, I threw together the pumpkin part- running from kitchen to computer to read the recipe – and put it in the oven. After dinner I mixed up the streusel. At the last minute – again running to the computer – I realized the topping was supposed to go on for the final bake. For such a hap-hazard technique, I am extremely pleased. Thank you! With this pie I think you can’t go wrong. I can’t wait to bake it again.

Leave a Reply

