Achiote-Guajillo Grill Marinade

Here’s a marinade that we recently used for chicken. I’m not sure how to pronounce it, but it was pretty tasty.

DSC_0015

I also appreciate Nathan who humored me by holding the chili powder in the middle of the grocery store while I snapped a picture with my phone.

IMG_0097

Here is what I do know about this dish.

Achiote is a seed that is harvested for it’s flavor and used in many Spanish dishes. I know this because I looked it up on Wikipedia.

Guajillo chiles [gwah-HEE-yoh] are thick, leathery dark reddish brown chiles that contain mild to moderate amounts of heat. The guajillo is one of the most commonly grown chiles in Mexico. This chile requires a longer soaking period than most due to its leathery skin.

I also looked this up on Wikipedia. So if it’s wrong, don’t tell me about it, go and correct it on there yourself. Wikipedia makes me a little nervous, but that’s another blog altogether.

You can use this marinade on just about anything – chicken, skirt steak or even shrimp.

We used chicken and made tacos — it was great.

DSC_0030

I removed those hot peppers you see in the picture because I'm a wimp.

Achiote-Guajillo Grill Marinade Recipe

½ cup orange juice

1 tablespoon achiote paste (you can usually find this in the international section of your grocery store if you live in middle America. If not, you can order it here: http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/extracts/anchpste.html)

1 tablespoon guajillo chili powder

4 cloves of garlic

½ white onion

1 teaspoon black pepper

2 teaspoons sea salt

¼ cup olive oil

Place in blender and process until smooth

Marinade chicken (or whatever you choose) for about and hour.

Prepare your dish on the grill, in the oven or on top of the stove – your choice.

Special thanks to my sweet friend Angee for getting me these pretty plates!

DSC_0009

2 Comments

Filed under In the Kitchen

2 responses to “Achiote-Guajillo Grill Marinade

  1. earlyrisers

    Those plates are from Miss Keely too!

  2. GAIL WOOLSEY

    MAKES ME HUNGRY FOR SOME OF NATHAN’S GOOD COOKING. WE HAVEN’T HAD OUR ANNUAL GATHER IN THE CITY FEAST AT MISTI AND NATHAN’S. COME ONE COME ALL(STUART’S) THAT IS.

Leave a Reply

