Whole-Wheat Biscuits

We’ve been so busy lately that it’s hard to get a minute to post. In my mind, this picture represents the frantic pace we’ve been keeping.

DSC_0011

This picture is actually from my school’s skate party tonight. At the end of a long workday we like to… go skating! I’ve never felt so old as I did tonight with the techno music blaring in my ears as I watched all the awkward kiddos when they called out, “Couples Only!”

So, in an effort to hang on to my youth, I came home and ate these …

DSC_0090

Nothing says I’m young and cool more than a homemade whole-wheat biscuit.

I’m not a fan of biscuits in general. I’m a little too young for biscuits to be honest. So, when I saw these brown biscuits, I was a little less than excited. However, Nate worked from home today. I should explain that when Nate works from home, I just never know what to expect. I may come home and the house may be a different color. Sometimes there are three kinds of chili. Sometimes, there are canned vegetables. Today, there were brown biscuits.

When I work from home, Nate also never knows what he will find. Sometimes he comes home and finds that I have completed one entire load of laundry. Sometimes he finds that I have worked my fingers to the bone arranging for pizza to be delivered at precisely the correct time. Sometimes he finds that I’m icing my tired hand that has been wrapped around the television remote for six hours straight.

After eating a couple of Fried Pies, and by couple I mean six, Nate and I have made a new promise. We promise to eat more brown food.  By that, I mean that we plan to eat more whole wheat and whole grains. These biscuits were a good place to start since we can smear a little strawberry jam or real maple syrup on them and feel like we are really living it up.

Since I don’t really like biscuits all that much, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I preferred the brown biscuits to regular white flour biscuits. I’m sure this is a sign that I’m very young.

Recipe:

Whole-Wheat Biscuits

2 Cups Whole-Wheat Flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon white sugar

1/3 cup shortening

1 cup of buttermilk

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar
  • Cut in the shortening until the mixture resembles coarse meal
  • Gradually stir in milk until the dough pulls away from the side of the bowl
  • Turn out onto a floured surface and knead 15 to 20 times
  • Pat or roll dough out to 1 inch thick
  • Cut biscuits with a large cutter or juice glass dipped into flour
  • Repeat until all the dough is used
  • Brush off excess flour and place biscuits on an ungreased baking sheet
  • Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until the edges begin to brown

DSC_0087

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

