Fried Pie Time

DSC_0660

This past weekend was my maiden voyage into Fried Pie heaven. I have never made fried pies before this past Saturday.

Okay. I will admit the statement I just made is not entirely true.  I have made pies that are fried and can be eaten by holding them in one hand. Yes, I have made those. However, it pains me to admit that I have never made a true hand-made version. So, I’ve never legitimately created a homemade fried pie until this past Saturday.

Fried pies are not easy to make. When I was in college we were always having bake sales to raise money for something or other. I always brought my “fried pies” to the bake sale. Making these consisted of me buying a few cans of biscuits and a couple of cans of pie filling. I would smash out the biscuits, fill’em with pie filling, dip them in hot oil and Voila – fried pies a la college student. If we had powered sugar on hand, I would mix it with a little water for a glaze. It’s not easy to admit this now, but guess what. These fried pies were pretty good. No, they were not gourmet, but Dr. Casey and my roommates (The Chickens) liked them a lot and they always sold at the bake sale.

This past weekend, for some reason, I decided to join Nate in the kitchen and try my hand at doing fried pies the right way. I channeled my Nanny and her fried pie-making skills. I decided on chocolate and coconut cream – random choices, I know.

My Nanny made lots of fried pies throughout my childhood, but most of the time she made apricot. I don’t like apricot. When she didn’t make apricot, she made chocolate. I love chocolate.

The best part about this recipe was the crust. While fried pie dough isn’t nearly as delicate as regular pie dough, I treated it as if it were. I handled it as little as possible and let it rest in the refrigerator for an hour. In the end, I actually said this to Nate: “I think this dough may be too flaky.” Upon which he laughed me right out of his kitchen. I am going to try butter in this recipe the next time I make them. I will let you know how that turns out.

I was dreading rolling out each pie and the mess that flour makes all over the counter. It’s these things that leave me curled up in a fetal position vowing to never cook again. I had divided the dough into 12 equal parts when my knight in shining armor pulled this out of the cabinet.

DSC_0030

As always it was glowing with possibility. The tortilla press worked like magic! We made 12 pies in about 12 minutes.

DSC_0647

I’m not turning my back on canned biscuits and pie filling – but, I now know the truth about fried pies…I just needed a tortilla press.

DSC_0689

Recipe:

Pastry for Fried Pies

This pastry recipe is enough to make 12 5- to 6-inch pies.

3 cups Cake flour

1 teaspoon Salt

¾ cup Crisco

1 Egg, lightly beaten

¼ cup Cold water

1 teaspoon Vinegar (preferably white vinegar)

  • Mix together the flour and salt.
  • Cut in the shortening with a pastry blender, fork, your hands, or whatever method works best for you, until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  • Stir together the beaten egg with the water and sprinkle over flour mixture.
  • Sprinkle in the vinegar, mixing lightly, until ingredients are well combined.
  • Form the dough into a ball and wrap in plastic wrap.
  • Refrigerate for at least one hour.
  • Cut dough into 12 equal pieces.

I suggest using a tortilla press. Cut a Ziploc bag into two 7” X 7” pieces. Use these to keep the dough from sticking to the press. Place the dough between the pieces of plastic and press gently to make a 5-6 inch dough round. Peel it from the plastic and place on your work area.

Chocolate Filling:

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 c. milk

2 tbsp. butter

1/2 tsp. vanilla

  • In a saucepan combine granulated sugar, flour, and cocoa powder.
  • Stir in the 1/2 cup milk and butter.
  • Cook and stir until bubbly.
  • Remove from heat when it starts to thicken. No more than one minute more. Stir in vanilla.
  • Cool.

Coconut Cream Filling

2 cups milk

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla flavoring

2 cups coconut

Directions

  • In a glass measuring cup mix the first 4 ingredients.
  • Microwave for 3 minutes until hot. Remove.
  • In another bowl whisk eggs, now you want to temper the eggs by adding some of the hot mixture into the eggs as you whisk.
  • Repeat step three again, then pour egg mixture into the first bowl. Keep whisking so the eggs do not cook.
  • Return to microwave for 8 minutes, remove to whisk at 2 minute intervals.
  • When done this should be a thick pudding.
  • Stir in flavoring and coconut and chill

To assemble pies:

  • Spoon 1 ½ tablespoons (maybe two) into the center of the pie dough rounds and fold over.
  • Use water to seal the edges and press the edges lightly with a fork to seal.
  • Heat oil to 350 degrees and cook until a light golden color. Ours took around four minutes each.

Glaze:

Mix together until smooth:

1 cup powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla flavoring

2 tablespoons milk

Spoon over hot pies and enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under In the Kitchen

One response to “Fried Pie Time

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Dirtshoe Blog

Leave a Reply

