Buttermilk Pie with a little help from Cowgirl Sue

There’s nothing more southern than dishes that use buttermilk. Buttermilk biscuits, buttermilk pancakes, buttermilk and corn bread … that’s right, buttermilk and cornbread. My grandparents (Nanny and PaPa) used to like buttermilk and cornbread (and sometimes sweet milk and cornbread) all mashed together in a glass or bowl and eaten with a spoon. Yuck. I’m not a fan myself, but I am a fan of my Nanny’s buttermilk pie. I just got off the phone from talking to her and she said she thought she should write a cookbook that features buttermilk recipes. I told her it was a great idea!

This is my favorite picture of my nanny. I think she looks pretty, but tough. That’s my PaPa holding the gate for her. This picture is appropriately labeled Cowgirl Sue on my computer.

Cowgirl Sue

I wasn’t a fan of buttermilk pie until I reached adulthood. When I was a kid I thought it was gross to be honest. Pie made out of buttermilk seemed strange to me. However, last Christmas Nate and I stayed with my Nanny and she served us a slice of buttermilk pie that I absolutely loved. She also uses the base for this buttermilk pie to make bread pudding. While I didn’t care for it as a child, I love it now.

I think it’s nice to find out as an adult that you like many of the things you didn’t like as a kid. In fact, Nate recently made mashed potatoes with turnips and we loved them after having a life-long hatred of turnips. On the other hand, that same night, we made macaroni and cheese from a box, which I adored as a child and would have eaten everyday of my youth. To be honest, it wasn’t all that good to me now. So, I guess it works both ways. Noting the fact that we liked the turnips, but no longer like the comfort food of our youth, Nate said: “I think you know you’re getting old when you prefer turnips in your potatoes to some Kraft mac and cheese.” He may be right!

Here are a few things I didn’t like when I was younger that I do like now:

  • Green Beans
  • Asparagus
  • Pork Roast
  • Bananas
  • Baked fish
  • Oatmeal
  • Chicken and Dumplings
  • Mayonnaise
  • Coffee
  • Cauliflower
  • Tamales
  • Meatloaf
  • Cabbage

I’m sure there are more things I can’t remember. I’m just glad to mature and find out that I do like Buttermilk Pie.  

By the way, when I called my grandmother for her recipe for Buttermilk Pie, she gave me the ingredients out of her head and then I adapted some other recipes to make a similar version. She and I agree this is pretty close to how she makes hers. I knew I wanted to add sugar and nutmeg to the top.  And, yes, I did use a store bought piecrust. Please don’t judge me. I’m a busy working woman.

DSC_0654

Please post a comment — what are some foods you like now, but didn’t like as a kid?

Recipe:

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter melted

1 1/2 cups sugar

3 tablespoons flour

3 eggs, beaten

1 pinch salt

1 teaspoon vanilla or ½ vanilla bean scraped

1 cup buttermilk

1 deep-dish pie shell (either your own recipe or store bought)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Beat the butter and sugar together until light.

Add the eggs and beat; then beat in vanilla.

Add flour, salt and buttermilk and beat until smooth

Pour into a deep-dish pie shell

Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes; reduce heat to 350F and bake for 50-60 additional minutes. Pie should turn a nice golden brown and a knife inserted should come out clean. For extra flavor, sprinkle the top with 1 tablespoon of sugar mixed with ½ teaspoon of nutmeg for the last ten minutes of cooking time. If top gets too brown, simply tent with aluminum foil, just make sure the foil isn’t touching the pie.

DSC_0665

** Note: I sprinkled the sugar and nutmeg on mine right before I put it in the oven and then tented it about 30 minutes into the cooking time.

DSC_0653

I also used real vanilla bean for this recipe. You can see the dark flecks of vanilla. Yum.

 

DSC_0691

 

3 Comments

Filed under In the Kitchen

3 responses to “Buttermilk Pie with a little help from Cowgirl Sue

  1. lexy883

    All I want to know is…How in the world did you get to stay in the Stuart family, and not like Cabbage and Chicken & Dumplins??!! I think I should meet with the elders, and talk this over with them. Wait, we are the elders!!!! Oh, never mind!

    P.S. I was the weird child that ate everything that the other kids wouldn’t!

  2. wtokie2

    Cheese. (that’s right – hated it as a kid).
    Sushi and anything green.
    Still don’t like grits or broccoli.

  3. Paula Ann

    Looking at me you would think there wasn’t any food I didn’t like as a child. I will admit there weren’t many…..buttermilk was a strong one, avocados, eggs, pizza (I remember when it first became popular in these parts, I wasn’t even in school). Was actually in my 40s before I started liking buttermilk and avocados.
    Misti, until I saw this photo of Aunt Sue I never realized how much you do really favor her. Bekki’s favor pie is Buttermilk and I always make it for her at Thanksgiving and Christmas. This year I will use Aunt Sue’s recipe, thank you.

Leave a Reply

